kctelfer

By kctelfer

Cousin's 30th

Tonight we were celebrating my cousin Rhona's 30th birthday. It's scary to think that she is 30 now! I can remember her 21st like it was just yesterday! I only see my family about 3 or 4 times a year so I love getting to see them. It was a great night with decent music, plenty of drinks and a lot of laughter. This was the first time that I had seen Rhona's house, 3 years after she had moved in so that was great too. After the party a few of us headed out to see the bright lights of Hamilton (hahaha fab joke), it wasn't up to much and was bloody dear to get in to! I won't be doing that again!

My brother was at his respite service for the weekend which meant that he couldn't come along but to be honest I think it would have been far too boring for him! It was a shame that he couldn't come along as my family means the world to me but he seemed to enjoy his time away :)

The night was made even better by the fact that I had passed my final essays of my nursing degree. I got another merit in one of my essays so hopefully I'll be able to pass my degree with a distinction come October!

The next day Rhona showed my boyfriend and I around her husband's farm including the milking parlour. It was very interesting but I can imagine it to be a stinking, dirty job most of the time. In their old parlour they could milk 20 cows at a time out of a total of 370ish, this usually took around 5 hours and they were milked 2 times a day. The new parlour they built just over a year ago milk 40 at a time and is a much better system. Being a sheep farmers daughter I've never seen a cow up close let alone have I clapped a calf! This was a completely new world to me but was very interesting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.