Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

What says the Arabic?

A dull day and mom and I looked closer to the details of the Persian vase she has since the 60-ies when we lived in Iran. We both enjoyed the faces of the bearded man and wonder what is written next to them, probably their names but if anyone here can tell us ~ we'd be delighted to hear!

I'd contacted blipper Visualbinam from Iran with my question and he's replied me with the names and info!
the portrait in the left of the man with turban bears the name of Nader Shah and apparently he's regarded as Iran's Napoleon ~ he played his role half a century before the French Napoleon we Westerners know quite well. The shiny moustached portrait on the right bears the name of Sanai who was an Irani Sufi poet of 1000 years ago!
There are 2 more faces on the vase and Visualbinam gave me their names too: another shah, shah Abbas the Great of Persia and philosopher Omar Khayyàm .

Me & mom are delighted with the translation of the names & the knowledge from Wiki that Visualbinam pointed out to me ~ Thanks Blipperfriend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.