Drying Day

When I looked at the forecast this morning, my first thought was – oh good I can get the washing dry.

When I was a child, Monday was always washing day, come rain or come shine. It took the whole day and took up the whole kitchen. I remember a wringer, and eventually we had a twin tub – really posh. But it was still a big job with piles of clothes on every surface and water everywhere. And goodness knows how it all got dry when it was raining. Oh yes! We had a creel, so all your clothes smelled of cooking! And we always had shepherd’s pie for tea, made from the leftover Sunday roast.

I am convinced that one of the most important things that helped towards female emancipation was the automatic washing machine. Now at least washing can be done any day and my washing machine isn’t even in the kitchen.

Today I still did washing on a Monday though and it dried outside.

This is a contribution to Mono Monday – weather.

The forecast for North West England:
Sunny Intervals
It will be a largely dry day for many, with sunny spells and light winds.
Scattered showers are likely to develop during the afternoon (they didn't).
Temperature - 15°C
Wind speed 9mph

Perfect drying morning!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.