Salvage Operation

My Ministerial responsibilities include responsibility for the fire service in Scotland so I've been a very proud Minister over the last few days. The extraordinary work of the firefighters in Glasgow on Friday at the Glasgow School of Art turned a desperate situation into one of hope.

I spent almost 2 hours on site with the fire service going through floor by floor what was involved in the operation and while I was there a line rescue team arrived to try something new. Unusually, they'll be using their skills to try to establish if they can save even more artifacts that way.

I had a wee joke with the firefighters that they couldn't have expected to be the toast of the art world. One of the GSoA senior staff pointed out that they are now the toast of the international art world!

I've cheated a bit with this blip as those are my hands - it wasn't actually me taking the photograph.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.