Moving Into The Unknown

By dvdlodi

Happy Anniversary!

Yes, it is Memorial day, but it's also my 23rd wedding anniversary. Happy Anniversary to my wonderful, caring wife! I definitely picked a peach when I came a courtin' that woman.

This photo was taken at the parade in Blue Hill, Maine today. I was stationed with my camera at the corner of Main and Pleasant Street. It's true. So New England and I love it. This corner also happens to be the home base for the world renowned Elliott & Elliott Architecture firm and I was privileged to sit on the front porch of their office during the parade. They've won all kinds of awards for their beautiful work.

This small town parade and remembrance ceremony reminded me of a time my brother and I played taps in a local cemetery following the parade we had just finished marching in. Maybe 7th or 8th grade. I was standing at the west end, he at the east end, and we played taps, slightly staggered to create an echo effect. This was the same cemetery where we would bury my father years later.

Feeling like I could write an entire book today, but I'll spare you, for now. Hope everyone had a great weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.