OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Puffin on Marwick Head

Not a lot at The Loons hide- several singing sedge warblers etc. The corncrake was still calling down at The Choin. I walked up the track toward the cliff-tops and saw a few puffins. While sitting in a spot out of the cool breeze a large swift flew overhead. We don't really get swifts in Orkney and this also seemed larger than the common swift and, when I got the binoculars focussed, had a white belly. Someone saw an alpine swift here last year and I thought that this might be one too. I got a couple of shots which will prove I.D. but not worth posting here. It disappeared north and I walked in that direction. At the village it swooped low over my head before disappearing again. My first ever alpine swift.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.