If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

White Ermine Moth (Spilosoma lubricipeda)

Over the years there have been many days when I have spotted something and called to CC "Hurry up your blip is on the door step, at the bottom of the garden, running away etc." Today she reciprocated, drawing my attention to this White Ermine Moth on the shed door.

I have known this Ermine Moth all my life (well not this individual you understand) but it is a long time since I have seen one. While I was taking some shots a gust of wind blew it off the door. I expected it to move when I picked it up off the path. Nothing not a movement of a leg the antennae - nothing. I decided it must have died during the night and just stayed in place. Thinking that I might get some more shots later I carefully placed it in a sheltered place out of the way until I had more time.

So a little later I went back to have another go. The sneaky little so-and-so had been playing possum, there it was gone. So you are left with a not very brilliant shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.