Memorial Day

I heard an older couple talking this morning, and the man was saying, "I have a friend who is a veteran, and he was quite upset when they changed the Memorial Day observance from May 30th, no matter what day of the week it was to the last Monday in May".

I have to agree that it's true, people are much too busy with barbecues and baseball games (unless they are like the young man working in the shoe department in Nordstrom with fashionably long hair, who was wearing a tie with an American flag on it) to spare a moment thinking of wars and veterans.

I guess I just gave myself away. I must confess that today I went shopping, before going home to put the finishing touches on barbecued lamb with bean salad and "smashed" potatoes for Jim's birthday, which was yesterday. Peter will be over to help make meringues with almond cream and strawberries for dessert.

We walked through the subdivision near us this morning, where the Boy Scouts were erecting flags next to the driveways of those who requested one. They will be back before dark to collect them.

I just wish there were fewer wars producing veterans. We don't do a very good job of taking care of the ones who come back and can't get good medical care or a decent job....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.