Just one ...

"Being born in a duck yard does not matter, if only you are hatched from a swan's egg.

-Hans Christian Anderson

I was up early this morning, before my alarm went off and so was ready for work far too early. As I had loads of time on my hands, I went for a wee walk round Gunknowe Loch to look for the three cygnets that I saw when I passed on the bus a couple of weeks ago. There was only one to be seen today and I have no way to tell whether it is from a new batch or is the only remaining one from the family I originally saw. There are some nasty pike in the Loch and we seldom have any young birds survive more than a few days.

There was also a pair of coots building a nest and I took some shots of them but thought it had better be the cygnet I blipped today as I may never see it again.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.