Carscribe

By Carscribe

Triangularis

Architectural plants are all the rage in the garden, as many of the displays at last week's Chelsea Flower Show would testify. Indoors I'm a sucker for geometric house plants that add a touch of structure to the decor. So when I spotted one I hadn't seen before, while staying with a friend recently, I felt compelled to cadge a small piece. Thanks to green-fingered friend Jackie for potting up a little off-cut for me.

This Oxalis Triangularis purpurea therefore came to Kent from Brazil via Yorkshire, quite a journey for a little butterfly-leafed plant known as purple shamrock. On a rainy day it adds a welcome splash of South American vibrancy to our sitting room. Some sunshine outside the window would be nice too ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.