What a difference a week makes...

A week ago today, I was woken at 7:30am by a phone call from my wifes phone . I wasn't altogether surprised, as MrsCyclops had been showing some signs of her condition worsening slightly the night before - even if the doctors didn't seem too worried.

When I answered, it wasn't my wife speaking - it was one of the midwives. "Your wife isn't feeling too well, can you come in to be with her" she said, "and your baby will probably be delivered later". I knew that since it wasn't MrsCyclops on the phone, something major was afoot.

I arrived at the hospital about 50 minutes later - I was a bit anxious about her, but also excited. I was doing fine until I got down the corridor to her room and saw it was empty, with an emergency trolley sitting outside and lots of sterile wrappers on the floor. Then I got my adrenaline hit! Fortunately there was someone at the desk to tell me where she was, and I may have jogged a little on the way round to the labour ward... Not that there was any labour going on.

I arrived in her room to find about 10 people in there with MrsCyclops - she was calm if a little pale, but she had about 4 cannulae sticking out from various bits of her arms and hands with lots of dried blood around them - getting them in clearly hadn't been easy. She was also wired for full monitoring.

She was being so brave, thinking about it even now makes me want to cry!

After about two hours in the room getting her blood pressure down enough to proceed, she was wheeled into theatre and numbed-up for a Cesarian delivery. The spinal anaesthetic caused her blood pressure to fall A LOT so there was then a wee rush to get the baby out, and most of the next hour was spent trying to get her blood pressure back up (a novelty after months of trying to keep it down).

The baby gave a healthy and indignant cry to mark his entry to the world, and although he needed a bit of help breathing over the first few days, both BabyCyclops and MrsCyclops have been recovering well since then.

Both are still in hospital a week on, but they are doing well and getting stronger each day, and this evening we managed to get a wee family portrait. Not quite in focus, but that's my fault for leaving the camera on manual when I gave it to the nurse!

I am so happy with these two.

How strong and brave they are being makes me feel quite teary... They have both been through so much - MrsCyclops has been ill pretty much continuously since November, and the somewhat traumatic events last week were the culmination of 4 weeks in hospital!


Apologies if it's odd to share this a week later - but I want to remember this stuff and this seems like a good way to record it

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.