Being observed

I was working in the part of the garden next to the bird table. The birds kept away while I put up a 'wigwam' for the sweet peas.

When Monty Don puts up his wigwam, it is straightforward. he presses his hazel sticks into the ground and in it goes smoothly, deep into the earth, secure against and wind which decides to blow over the summer.

I don't have hazel sticks, I need to use bamboo. I put it into the ground and after an inch, it hits a stone which is removed. Another couple on inches, it hits a piece of slate which is removed. Six inches in, it hits something else. I decided to remove it.

Ten minutes later with the help of a spade, a metal spike and a sledgehammer, a boulder was removed. OK, it was a small boulder but it took some shifting. I needed a cup of tea.

As soon as I left the emerging wigwam, the birds arrived including this siskin. They must have been watching. So I decided to watch them for a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.