Collection or obsession?

I suppose this is my collection - generic, normal, boring, but the only significant one I have. I don't consciously 'collect' music, just accumulate it I think. Started buying CDs at University when I was a bit of a completist - had to have every single by all my favourite Britpop bands - cringe...!

Even the advent of digital hasn't stopped me - there is still something about buying and opening a CD and playing it for the first time, although now it gets stored on the hard drive too for iPod purposes. Downloading a track just isn't the same, although I do embrace change and participate in that too!

Others have sold CD collections after storing it all on hard drives etc - I've considered it but don't think I could, despite the room all of these plastic discs take up. It's history I'm looking at each day, albeit only the last decade or so since buying them. I remember where I bought most of them, or particular moments in time when I played them. Can't get rid of em for that reason.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.