In Today's Views...

By LovePopcorn

Brownie Boy

Short story: the title

Long story goes like this:
Sunday after dinner I was typing recipes into my computer when I received a FaceTime request from Daughter #2 (FaceTime is a Mac version of Skype). I accepted it and found out that Grandson M asked his Mum if he could have more brownies. When we went to the MS fundraiser on Saturday I had brought along home-made from scratch brownies. When he found out I was the one who made them he insisted they call me to talk about more brownies.
It seems he really likes them a LOT, and there were no more!
He told me, " Grandma, I really want you to make me some more brownies and bring them over. I like them!"
Now this is a BIG DEAL that he likes any sort of food, especially a new one.
M has autism and is very, Very, VERY picky about what food he will eat.
It is common for autistic people to have food issues due to magnified sensory input.
I explained that it was late at night (about 6:30 pm), then asked if I could make them Monday morning and bring them over at that time.
He replied, " But the sun is still shining! It's not late."
His Mum and I convinced him that if I started right away, by the time I made them, they cooled enough, then I drove over, that it would in fact be dark and he would be in bed.
It was agreed I would make and deliver the brownies early Monday morning.
He was very excited when I arrived. We cut the brownies, gave him one with milk whereupon I told him I had to take a picture of him eating it.
Blip for the day solved!
We even discussed the possibility of making them together the next time he came visiting.
Thus ends this brownie ballad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.