As my mood grabs me...

By AlisonM

Snow Dog

Well the snow descended again overnight so come lunchtime today I had no choice but to go for walk in the park. I've learned before that if I don't go on the first decent day of snow then it's all horrible by the next day.

I spent a very enjoyable hour wandering down to the lake and back photograhing anything and everything and there was an excellent selection of snow creations to choose from. There were three igloos, lots of snowmen, what can only be described as a snow rat and this - three 20 somethings came rushing over to me when they saw me with the camera and informed me that there was a snow Labrador nearby. I suspect they built it as one of the chaps asked if I was from the local paper. I get asked that a lot - must be something to do with the size of my camera :)

Another chap stopped me to ask about the camera too - I wholeheartedly recommended it if he could ever find one - the Sony R1 is a wonderful walkabout camera if somewhat larger than my SLR.

Walking about has been ok - just the odd sideways slide and I chose to get off the bus in town this morning and amble to work taking a lot of early morning shots - well 8am or thereabouts.

Sadly word is that temperatures are due to plummet overnight so the pavements are going to be sheets of ice. People at work keep moaning about the roads and no-one seems to understand that the pedestrian has a pretty tough time of it too - possibly more so. After all more often than not an incident on the road results in a pranged car - falling on your backside on the pavements could potentially result in actual physical injury - hey ho - I'll just walk slowly tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.