A spoonful of sugar

I found this poor little bee floating in the water butt. I'm not sure how long it had been there and I really thought it was dead but I thought I would drag it out just incase. I placed a stick in the water and under the bee and surprisingly it clung on. I placed it on some nearby flowers to dry out and went into get some sugar solution from it. It was keen on drinking from the spoon so I poured some onto the flowers. You can see the drips . It really tucked in pushing it's long maxilla, tongue sheath into the droplet and lapping it up with it's tongue. It seemed to recover quite quickly once it's energy was restored. Fancied trying it myself.

June can be a tough time for bees apparently as the nectar is harder to find and bees swarm so a good idea to have as many nectar rich plants in the garden as you can.

The talk yesterday was very interesting. The Black Isle Railway no longer exists but there are still clues of it's existence including several bridges and the station masters houses and much of the line now provides pleasant walks , so more exploring to be done :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.