Stampede!

Sunny day at Maulds today, so I took the opportunity for a four-mile walk round the fields near the village - one of the footpaths went across a field of young heifers. On entering the field, I did think about BBC countryfile programme talking about stampeding cattle flattening a walker. I've never had any trouble with cattle and thought nothing of it, but these guys had clearly watched the programme and decided I was game!

They galloped across the field straight at me, I took the decision that getting to the gate before they did was a good idea - four paces before the gate, my walking trainer stuck in the mud and my foot came clean out of it. I hopped the rest of the way as these guys crashed into the gate! 20 minutes of snorting and jostling, and they walked off far enough for me to retrieve a very muddy trainer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.