'All White'

Had a picture rail painting session today in Master Bs room. It's now 'All White'.

This set of red ladders were outside the bedroom door, thought they looked particularly attractive in the setting, I'm rather fond of them. They belonged to Angy and Daw-Daw, two of my Great Aunts, and I inherited them. "Angy" was how we knew her because her first nephew didn't know how to pronounce "Aunty" and his version stuck. She was a textile designer in Manchester in the 30s/40s and owned a Morris Minor. "Daw-Daw" was how everyone knew her sister as she was a missionary for 40 years in Burma (30s -70's apart from having to come home for a bit when the Japanese invaded Burma in WWII) and everyone who knew her there called her "Daw-Daw", translated as "Aunty." They were like chaulk and cheese but lived together in this country for their final years. Daw-Daw I remember as gentle and kind though I only knew her when I was small, Angy was a somewhat trickier lady.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.