Call the Maxwife!

An amazing day out at Historic Chatham Docks where I discovered Call the Midwife was filmed!

It really was a great day out, we went to a Victorian Ropery where the boys volunteered and got to help make rope and keep a piece for their trouble, we went on to HMS Gannet (1878), HMS Cavalier (1944) and HM Submarine Ocelot (1962) which I found very claustrophobic but fascinating. We saw the RNLI Historic Lifeboat Collection, we learned about the History of the Dockyards which spans hunderds of years, it must have been devastating for so many people when it closed in the 1984, the end of an era but it's wonderful that it is open as a museum today, I would thoroughly reccomend it as a brilliant day out for anyone.

I changed the photo as I loved the pic of Gulli with his rope he helped to make and also the one of Max with the Ropery guide.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.