Harry Belafonte 'sister'

This photo uploaded itself yesterday before I had finished.

You would all be wondering why I had a picture of Harry Belefonte. Well, there is a tale to Harry Belefonte and I remember it with fondness.

When we were young my dear grandmother used to babysit when mam and dad went out. At a weekend we were allowed to stay up late and could watch 'The good old days'! and Match of the day.

So The Good Old days was on. We watched in front of the coal fire, laughing and singing from the telly. They really were the good old days.

So, Granny shouts in her broad cumbrian (cumberland then!) "Ere theers Harry Belefonte sister'. I enquired where was his sister. She replied "Whose sister" I said "Harry Belafontes sister" She then said "well a dunt know is sister" and I said "but you just said you'd seen her" her reply "no I didn't". I was a bit confused by now so went back to the start!! I said " you looked at the telly and you said theers harry belafonte sister". My lovely old granny burst out laughing. 'SISTER' is sort of a cumbrian dialect word for look there, or see, I think! Now if its not a cumbrian dialect word she made it up!! Anyway when she said "Theers Harry Belafonte sister" what she meant was "Theers Harry Belafonte Look or see!! "

You see why its such a fond memory. Every time I here Harry Belafonte that is my memory! I didn't see him that night and have never seen him until he was on the bbc news look north tonight. I think he was on with something to do with Martin Luther King coming to Newcastle. Not today but a long time past!

So this is why I have a picture of Harry Belafonte. See how I got the flash directly on his nose!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.