Crazy Overstuffed Life

By Allison

Champions!

Unlike my last basketball blip, this time my girl is genuinely happy. Not just because her team won the tournament (let's face it, winning is more fun). But the "mean girl" who refused to pass her the ball and make her cry last time did pass her the ball this time, and R promptly scored. And then twice more. And stole the ball from the other team. Several times. She was playing her best and enjoying herself.

A little confidence makes a world of difference.

The whole team played well, and like a team, and they won decisively with contributions from every player. What team sports should be like, and I'm so glad for my girl that she ended the season on a happy note.

This is R with her coach, who is a lovely woman who coaches a whole bunch of teams and is a kind person as well. She also reminds me,in a way I can't quite put my finger on, of my mother (who was a girl's physical education teacher for many years).

It was a happy time as a parent to be there, and I am very grateful to Grandma Jane who looked after C for a very long evening so that I could be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.