Jaxter

By Jaxter46

Traffic Chaos

Left work at 3pm as the snow was starting to fall quite heavily, I joined the A55 which was a bad move as pretty soon we were at a standstill, the snow came down so quickly the lorries going up the hill couldn't make it. I managed to get myself into the outside lane and hugged the crash barrier as this was the only place the snow wasn't getting compacted. We didn't move for nearly three hours and I had visions of spending the night in the car. I was well equiped with lots of warm gear and other essentials so I wasn't too worried.

When we finally got moving the cars were sliding everywhere I stayed out of their tracks and steadily made it up the hill and past the wagons which weren't going anywhere soon.

Thankfully by the time I made it to the Well Hill the snow plough had cleared the road and I was able to get to my turn off. WIth it being a lane no gritters go up there so it was a bit hairy getting to the house, a really sharp bend to navigate which I didn't manage so had to go straight on and do a slidey 3 point turn and try again. With trepidation I inched forward as there is a really steep bank on the left of the lane and I had visions of going over it. I was doing ok until I went over the brow of the hill and began to descend thats when I started going sideways, thankfully I got it under control, stopped the car and shovelled snow under wheels to get some traction and made it safely down the hill.

Never been so glad to get in, same story all over the country

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.