Life of a toaster

By jivetoaster

Down by the Riverside

I went down Clydeside at lunchtime today for my blip and to take in the meagre sun. For some reason I went there via Fox Street, and felt a pang of loss as I passed the spot where The Riverside Club once stood. Many years ago I was there pretty regularly of a Friday night.

For those who don't know what it was, it was a ceilidh club and otherwise somewhat eccentric venue. You went upstairs from the shuttered door, and the long hall was hovering over the void developers have created to the right in this picture. The long hall was perfect for strip the willow, but a bit tricky for the DWS...

Ceilidhs pretty much every weekend and other odd acts later on (it was where Mylo played his first show, I think). It's been closed for about 3 years now, but the "luxury" flats it made way for haven't materialised yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.