... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

CCC: Bedraggled Bee

More messy in large ("L").

This bee was absolutely covered in poppy pollen: I found it pulling itself out of a pool of water that had filled the base of the poppy flower and which was full of pollen. The bee was absolutely covered in the oily-looking slurry, and it spend ages washing before trying to fly off. Here is another picture of it. The colour is rather vibrant, but is actually slightly desaturated: this is just what happens when you fill the frame with poppy petals and the DOF is narrow.

Before finding this, I was going to post a droplet image: I took loads this morning after the rain so have uploaded 10 to my Flickr (right from here).
Droplet highlights:
Daisy image in droplet
Droplet lens on a daisy (with bonus black & white insect)
Droplets and bokeh
AND
I found a fly trapped in a droplet: it was trapped since it was unable to break the surface tension... 1, 2, and 3
It kept trying to pull itself free, but would get pulled back in as it tried to stretch the droplet outwards; insects really do live in a different sort of world!
I freed it after I'd taken my photos...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.