DevonDumpling

By DevonDumpling

'Digitalis purpurea'

There is no way I can let this month finish without having shown one of my MANY favourite Cottage garden plants. In actual fact, this group of FOXGLOVES self seeded themselves last year in a large pot that had had Red Geraniums growing in it all summer....I decided to leave them. I have them all around the garden. The Bees love them!
The individual flowers all face the same way..the downward pointing flowers are protected from the rain and the bees can enter the protected innards. The pollination of the bloom is only carried out by the bumble bees, which have to crawl right into the flowers to reach the nectar and thus pollinate the flowers.
So much I could write about this beautiful flower, its origins, plant lore and history and health and well being...Its well known that the drug digitalis is found in this plant..(heart acting enzyme) which is commonly known as Digoxin.

I have found this very hard to capture.....basically Foxgloves are best experienced first-hand...I think they have a unique magic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.