Mags' Moments

By MagsMoments

In the (changeable) eye of the beholder...

For reasons that are inexplicable to me, one of our neighbours insists on fortifying his perfectly pleasant villa with high, barbed-wire fences and impregnable gates.

Being 600 metres above sea level, we tend to get some pretty big winds up here and inevitably all manner of things end up snagged on the barbed wire.

But today, as I wandered past, I thought that these tattered remains of a plastic fertilizer bag actually looked almost beautiful in the sunlight and I took a quick shot of the fluttering scraps before I could change my mind.

On my return trip home, however, I found myself once more lamenting the ugly, intimidating fence and the scraps of plastic had lost the transforming light that had lent them magic and were again just more bits of unattractive rubbish snared by the barbs, listlessly flapping for attention lest any passer-by possibly fail to notice them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.