privateryan

By privateryan

Slam Dunk North 2014

This was one of the best days EVER!

I got the chance to see some of my favourite bands, meet some of my favourite band members and take photos all day!

Within minutes of stepping on campus (Leeds Uni held the festival) I bumped into Dani Winter-Bates and Adam Jackson from Bury Tomorrow. They both signed my album and I got a photo with them.

Once we got into the festival properly after the wristband exchange I went to the Blitz Kids merch table to go say hi to Chris, their merch dude and bought a hat. I felt the need to cover my hair after it rained incredible amounts while we were coming in.

Then I managed to meet Alex Sears from Decade (who I've met before) and got another photo with him.

One person I'd been hoping to meet was Charles Trippy, bassist of We The Kings but also World Record holder for the most consecutive vlogs on YouTube. I've watched his videos everyday for around 3/4 years now and when I found out he'd be performing at Slam Dunk I just knew I had to go! So me and Pauline are stood waiting in the line for the main stage and I see Charles stood on his own near their merch. I just kinda walked straight over and he shook my hand. I managed to get a photo with him (LOOK AT IT). It was SO cool getting to meet him. And he said my ninja socks were badass!

Then I went and saw Blitz Kids, who absolutely SMASHED it! I took plenty of photos of them and enjoyed every minute of their set!

After they finished I went to line up for the Bury Tomorrow signing. While waiting for the signing I saw Nic Montgomery from Blitz Kids. When I saw them a couple of weeks ago I got his setlist but didn't catch him to get a photo and it signed. So I went up to him and asked for a photo. He is genuinely one of the nicest people ever. He makes me laugh without even needing to do anything.

I joined the queue again for the Bury Tomorrow signing and they all signed my Union Of Crowns album and a poster. I'd already got photos with Dani and Adam but got photos with Dav, Jason and Dawson.

Once we'd finished there we went and saw a band called Natives. Pauline had photographed them before and said they were really good but I'd not listened to them. Now I haven't stopped. Such an underrated band! Go check them out!

Then we met back up with Julia and saw We The Kings, another band that I was super glad I got to finally see!

We went from there in search of the other signings. We all got to meet We Are The In Crowd and get a signed Kerrang! postcard before joining the queue for the Blitz Kids signing. I didn't get photos with them this time but got a signed poster and they all signed my hat (I'm gonna sew their signatures).

While we waiting in the queue for Blitz Kids I spotted Loz Taylor, lead singer from While She Sleeps but wasn't quick enough to ask for a photo. But then I caught him again later and got one. AND I noticed Sean Smith, lead singer from The Blackout too! So I got a photo with him too.

After this we went to photograph some crowds (hence the chosen photograph for this entry). I've always wanted to give it a go but never been to a gig with good enough crowd or lighting. I think it turned out ok!

After leaving the main stage I came out to see Travis Clarke, lead singer of We The Kings, in the corridor! So I followed him to the merch room and got a photo with him too. Then I turned around to see his girlfriend Jenny who was SO lovely! Both Jenny and Travis do vlogs like Charles so it was cool to meet her too!

We decided to go for a wander after that in search of the lads from Mallory Knox, and happened to find Sam walking with Jono from Blitz Kids. Got a high five from Jono and a photo with Sam :)

Me and Julia went to the Monster Stage to go see The Ghost Inside, letlive. and Bury Tomorrow.

Bury Tomorrow absolutely KILLED it! (WATCH MY VIDEO OF DAWSON'S SOLO)! By far the best live band I've ever seen! Every time I see them I just want to go on and on about it for weeks after! I was told not to take photos of these but took them on the sly because I didn't want to miss the opportunity. I posted THIS PHOTO of Dawson and he commented on it too!

At the end of their set I was lucky enough to get Dav's setlist.

I seriously couldn't have had a better day. Ok, maybe if my buddy had managed to come with me would it have been truely unforgettable. But I had the bestest time with Pauline and Julia EVER! You girls rock! Thank you :)xo

PLEASE CHECK OUT MY FACEBOOK PAGE WHICH HAS THE REST OF THE PHOTOS!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.