hello : )

By 1DayataTime

the local laundromat

I met up with a friend a few weeks ago and as we walked by my car with two laundry baskets sitting on the passenger's seat, she said something to the effect of "You still go to the laundromat?" And my response was something like, "Yeah, it doesn't bother me at all."

I've rented many apartments over the years and some have had a washer/dryer in the basement or a central location, one actually had a washer/dryer in it, and others have not, such as where I live now. There are times when I really wish I did have a washer/dryer in my home. Times like when it's snowing/raining, when I don't feel like climbing the many stairs to my apartment, etc. For the most part, though, I really don't mind going to the laudromat.

However, the place I go to now was supposed to be torn down back in Feb/March in preparation for a new apartment complex. And it may sound weird, but I really like this current laundromat - just look at all the windows and mirrors that make it appear bigger! It is also fairly clean and I feel safe there. I heard that there is another laudromat similar to this one not too far away, so I have a plan B.

Today there was an older woman there doing her laundry. I'm not good with guessing ages, but maybe she's in her 80s. We briefly chatted and later on she said that she was going to get a coffee and would I like a coffee too? I thanked her and said that I was on my way, as my laundry was done. We have been at the laundry the same time before, so maybe next time I'll ask if she'd like to meet for coffee sometime.

Back to my friend's comment about going to the laundromat. My friend was raised in a family where money was very tight and so for her it's very important to live in a home that includes a washer/dryer. My family was financially well off, but we have sure had our challenges in other areas, so it is probably the case that I take physical comforts for granted. The part, though, that bothered me about my friend's comment is that it felt like a judgment.

I'm headed to a much-needed meditation retreat this weekend. Happy Friday everyone : )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.