intothehills

By intothehills

Idwal Slabs

A special place in the history & heart of climbing - the magnificent Idwal Slabs.
This was the first place I ever climbed in Wales - and three years ago when I started on this new path it was the first multi-pitch climbing I'd done in a decade.
Today I took my friend Matt so that he could experience his first taste of a big mountain route - the exposure, the technical differences - the need to run the rope out further between protection - we even managed the joys of a (semi) hanging belay - the valley and Llyn Idwal sprawling away beneath us. As an instructor the look on someone's face when they see this stuff for the first time is priceless - it's good to be back out in the mountains and on the rock again.

This shot was taken on the relatively short walk out - pretty sure we'll both be back soon, who knows one day it'll be Matt's turn to introduce someone to the dark arts here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.