youngies journey

By youngie66

Argghhh Chewed Alive By Midgies

Pesky blighters in all my years going up north never had I seen or felt it so bad by being eaten alive by midgies here at Glenfinnan as our whole trip was midgie free before and after Glenfinnan man those wee buggers sure know how to piss you off anyway after visiting the Jacobite memorial to Bonnie Prince Charlie by Loch Shiel it was a wee climb up to the viewpoint to get a view in the opposite direction to catch the other Jacobite this time the steam train named the Jacobite which departs Fort William and heads to Mallaig which was our destination as well here you can see it just starting to crosss the famous Glenfinnan Viaduct used in the Harry Potter movie I think it was the second one The Chamber Of Secrets that you seen this maybe wrong on that one but anyway our tour took us from our hotel at Ballachuilish up to Mallaig and on to the Cal Mac ferry as I quietly hummed the speed bonny boat song Over The Sea To Skye then we headed up to the Sky Bridge and crossed over to The Kyle Of Lochalsh to sample my favorite place for Fish and Chips at Hectors Bothy he also owns the chip shop in the village as well and I always have a huge freshly cooked Haddock in a beer batter and it was fab with my salt and vinegar anyway it was down to Eilan Donan Castle for some photos then the drive down through Invermoriston then along Loch Ness to Urqhart Castle then on through Inverness to Culloden Battlefield before driving back down the A9 to home a long day but very enjoyable and a golf tournament tomorrow so hope I'm not to tired but it was worth the couple of days away thankfully no more midgies to contend with and I also enjoyed the ferry ride to Skye I do love the Cal Mac ferries to the islands oh well movie for the day is a movie to do with the old Jacobite rising back in 1745 and is called " Chasing The Deer 1994" before I sign off the locomotive in this shot is Black 5 45231 hauling the Jacobit staem train which costs £58 1st class return or £34 standard class return with 2 trips a day between May-October anyway looks good BIG as well See Ya

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.