UFOs on the Highway

You really MUST see this LARGE.

I thought I'd get some pictures of the traffic action up on Blackheath's main intersection with the Great Western Highway. Now this spot has been well and truly "done over" during the last few years by various of us Blackheath blippers and the more trouble that I went to, the more everything seemed like something that one or other of us had shot before. Then ... out of the blue, (like Paul on the road to Damascus) inspiration came. Why don't I shoot it all OUT OF FOCUS? My stuff is USUALLY a bit out of focus anyway ... why not do the job properly?

Stunned by my own brilliance, it took me a moment to work out the best way of actually doing that but (having derived a methodology) away I went. What we see here is the junction of Govetts Leap Road and the GWH, seen as a cacophony of unfocused coloured lights. There are traffic lights, spotlights, headlights, brake lights, tail lights, advertising lights etc.

Not content with the above, I probably lurched too far into abstract notions by supercharging the saturation, nudging the tint slider, fooling around with the contrast, running the "glass" filter and cropping the whole thing. Ahhhh. I can see an original print of this mess (ahem) "sublime abstract" going for an obscene price at auction some day ....... then again, now that I look at it again .... I could be wrong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.