Breakey Blips

By ElizabethB

White lion Bailout 2014

I have been involved in this event for the last 4 years and my parting words to the team was, "See you next year!" It is so much fun.
Whitelion is a great charity providing practical help, mentors and jobs to young folk at risk. Their programs cost $10k to keep a kid out of prison or to stop them returning, but a young person in jail costs $200,000. Go figure why they have to rely on fundraising events such as Bailout and are not properly funded by government.

So at Bailout, about 150 folk at theMelbourne event, each raise $1000 for their bail and have an experience of going to jail for the evening.
I took my son and his friend with me. They formed the Belmint Bad Boys team, representing their scout troop. I was part of the "experience", being the chaplain along with several actors dressed as prison guards. There was a past attorney general, a defence lawyer and a children's Court judge taking part in the court scene mock up too.
I was worried that my boys would be overwhelmed by the serious and confronting aspect of the evening, but as you can see, they had a ball at the sillier moments in the exercise yard.
If you would like to contribute, please consider helping bail out the Belmont Bad Boys at the Whitelion Bailout Melbourne site.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.