Lost Light and the Dead Battery...

If you've been tuning in the last couple of days you'll know we've had an abundance of the frozen precipitation in the area we are holidaying. We were thinking of heading down south a touch to go visit, not Bethany's castle or Ewan's Castle but Newcastle (pardon the in-family joke/pun). We unfortunately had to can the idea due to the ever increasing inches of snow.

I have a like/dislike relationship with driving in the snow and was almost tempted to make the journey, but the news were transmitting a foreboding in the weather that just couldn't be ignored. I have this perverse love of driving in the snow because it is completely different from normal driving and the unpredictablility of it makes it so much more interesting than normal driving conditions.

On the flipside, it can be very scary at times. Especially coming down steeper hills. It's when you have to have absolutley total awareness of the amount of braking and speed that you are using to make sure the weight of the car and it's contents don't head off into a uncontrollable slide. I still have a memory in the back of my head from years ago when we went sledging up Sheriff Muir in the hills above Stirling. I had to drive so slowly down the rather steep hills that I was considering getting some of my payload to get out and stand at the front of the car to stop it sliding down the hill.

------------------------------------------------------------------

Notes on the Picture and Subject...
This is an old horse stable from the disused farm next door to our cottage. I was going to try and elevate the tyre more into the sunbeams but as luck wouldney have it, my battery ran out right after this shot. Inspite of going back a couple of times later in the day, the light went flat for most of the day and just didn't dramatise itself as well as it did here.

------------------------------------------------------------------

Notes on Holiday Blip Habits...
During this holiday although I have internet access, I have tried not to be such a comment addict that I normally am, throwing myself headlong into comment cold turkey. Logging in to upload this has shown a ridiculous amount of comments from yesterday for which I thank you all. I'm not ignoring them but will catch up on them when I'm back in TerraScotia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.