Heads I Win

Heads I win I think, as swaying in the light breeze on the grass seed head was this little common blue butterfly.

I hit the deck rapidly - just couldn't help myself as I'm a sucker for a beauty and he was. I adore, utterly love, the patterns on the wings which are so very pretty ...and that delicious turquoise blue!! Head down in the grasses, both of us, with him not doing a great deal as the temperatures hadn't warmed up the surrounding pastures, it seemed an ideal time to quietly get up close and personal.

If you look closely you can see the microscopic scales covering the wings arranged rather like tiles on a roof. Many are pigmented and others reflect or refract the light, producing iridescent colours. Very photogenic.

Overhead briefly there was circling above and dropping really close, a red kite! Darn...not a macro shot!!! I've seen this kite here before from time to time - who knows where it's come from.

Saw a very colourful metallic green beetle Oedemera Nobilis and an obliging furry dungfly. A macro morning then!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.