Welcome to Arran

Spent today on a wee microadventure to Arran with Michael.

Very exciting stuff involving ferries, Brodick Castle and gardens, Arran ice cream, the Arran cheese experience, Arran ale and possibly the best fish and chips I've ever had!

Arran is a really beautiful place, I'd never been before today and was quite charmed by it. (Correction from mum - apparently we went when I was 10, we camped and flew kites on the beach! Perfect)

When I was growing up, holidays consisted of ferries and camping. Nowadays they mostly consist of planes and hotels. And I can't help but feel something has been lost.

Call me nostalgic if you will (and I did love my childhood) but I LOVE a good ferry. The choppier the better. I love that feeling in your stomach as you lurch over the waves, I love not being able to walk in a straight line, and I love the sense of adventure. I was very excited to be back on a ferry again, even if it was smooth sailing.

Sadly I couldn't take a good picture of my excitement or the actual ferry, so here is my delicious raspberry ripple ice cream, enjoyed as I sat outside the castle.

SPOILER ALERT - The beloved camping part of my nostalgia will be coming up in about a month - so you can look forward to that delight!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.