Birds, birds, birds

Pity this isn't the first day of DDW's June Challenge.

I was going to blip a shot of the 5 jars of strawberry jam I made. But the day started with many minutes of watching the goldfinches enjoy the grasses in the orchard. I think the fruit trees would benefit from more clear ground around them but it seems a shame to deprive the birds. Whilst lounging in the hammock I saw a woodpecker fly over, then a buzzard land on one of the trees because it was being harassed by a rook. The swifts returned today to join the swallow that have already got a brood on the go. The blackbirds and blue tits are very busy. The bullfinch was also a fine sight. Not to mention the robins, chaffinches and wren that put in appearances. I would prefer not to mention the pigeons... If only our barn owl had made appeared today instead of Monday. Not bad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.