todayoutof10

By todayoutof10

Courage is its own reward..

I was back at the Scottish Police College at Tulliallan today, supporting community police officers with the trials of dealing with young people with mental health difficulties.

Some 120 brand new officers were passing out - a ceremony I've seen now on a few occasions. It's quite splendid.

I had the pleasure of meeting the College's most decorated officer. His presence was quite something, not to mention what he's endured in Northern Ireland and elsewhere, to help keep us safe. All eyes were on him as he proudly marched through the crowds. And rightly so. How much we owe him and many like him.

My dearest chum told me today he'd had an heroic effort on the rowing machine the night before - smashing his personal best. I recognised his tale of how hard it felt but how deep he was prepared to dig, in order to chase down the all important time. I know that takes courage. And I also know how bloody good it made him feel when he nailed it.

Courage. Never underrate it. In any of its forms.

Today outof10? An heroic 9.5 ❤️

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.