Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

The (grumpy old) Man From U.N.C.L.E.

We went to see 12 Angry Men at the Garrick today and hung around the stage door afterwards as I wanted to see if I could grab a blip with one of my childhood heroes. When it came to spies, most of my mates back in the 'sixties wanted to be the raffish Ilya Kuryakin played by David McCallum but I wanted to be Napoleon Solo played by the oh so smooth Robert Vaughan. I still have the 1969 annual with stories of their exploits.

Anyway I was totally surprised when he actually appeared. If I said he was reluctant to pose I'd be wildly exaggerating as you can see from his expression. I actually think he was trying to break my lens with the force of his disdain ...

Beforehand we went to the South Bank for some street food and walked over to the Royal Opera House to buy tickets for Romeo and Juliette in July. Afterwards we went to The Yoga Mama for supper. But I shall always remember today as being the day when Napoleon Solo got grumpy with me...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.