Semper Bufo

I have been building a butterfly garden behind the house on the edge of the wood and today I finished the first stage. The idea is to put in a mixture of plants that the butterflies like but not to worry too much about neatness or rigid maintainance. Wild flowers will be encouraged, at least around the edges. Caterpillars are welcome. Insecticides. I've been doing lots of deturfing, which is hard work in all the heat we've been having, digging holes, filling them (grateful for the extra 2 yards of topsoil), Preeming, and finally planting. Lots of zinnias, which the butterflies love (apparently), lavender (which I love) and (incongruously) chives (which I think we both love). Plus a few odds and ends that had nowhere else to live. Later there will be milkweed for the monarchs (not that they need any extra in these parts) and a Buddleia if I can find one. (It's invasive, so I will only get one if I can find one of the infertile hybrids.)

Unfortunately for the local toad population, I seem to have intruded on their territory. Not sure if they were living in the topsoil or in the deturfed turf, but they wanted to be in my butterfly garden, and I didn't want them there until it was finished - I don't want to spear one with a fork or apply chemicals to it. Unfortunately for one little guy, that's exactly what happened - he go a facefull of deer repellent. And then disappeared before I could hose him down. Not so good, because amphibians absorb chemicals through their skin.

Anyway, we'll see if the butterfly garden survives the predations of the local wildlife. The deer and he rabbits might eat it and a bear might just sit on it! But the toads will always be welcome - once it's safe for them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.