Sheoak flowers

Into the Park this morning to start off the photographic record of all the historic buildings and areas dotted around the place. A very flat even light, which was actually good for the recording we had to do.

I have never seen this tree in flower before. It's a sheoak - a drooping sheoak I think, which is endemic to South Australia. Apparently there are male and female trees, each with different flowers. According to my limited research I think this is a male tree.

Isn't it fascinating how the flowers grow straight out of branch of the tree? It was quite a sight, even from a distance. The leaves are needle-like, and very sparse, so the flowers really stand out.

Great win by the Crows this afternoon. It was a good game, and a very pleasant time. I had my knitting to keep my hands occupied and some lovely malt bread made yesterday, to keep our tummies happy. What with that, and several cups of tea - it really was a lovely afternoon.

Thanks for all the lovely comments yesterday for my raindrop. All were really appreciated.

I hope we are all geared up for MonoMonday tomorrow, Don't forget it's being hosted by Rainie, and the theme is THREE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.