middaypyjamas

By middaypyjamas

Pop’s Birthday Celebration

We celebrated my Dad’s birthday today, a week after he actually had it due to him being away last weekend on a ‘boy’s trip’ with his Dad. It was a fun night spent at Jonathan’s house with present’s given, cake eaten, song sung, the usual. As you can see my niece Ella was in attendance and got to spend a bit of time with the birthday boy.

The earlier part of my day was spent at work and then making Dad’s present. I had already bought him a thermal top to take away when he, Mum, and Angela go to Nepal later this year but felt it wasn’t enough, so I drew him a picture. He once voiced a belief that if he were to have a spirit animal it would be a sacred kingfisher. The conversation was a while ago but I think this is due to the fact that whenever he seems to be going through a significant point in his life, somehow, in that period he would spot this animal. It is a beautiful bird, both in colour and design, and so I originally tried to draw it in colour. However my colour pencil drawings are a bit rusty so when that failed I instead did it in grey lead. If you like you can see it here.

A photo of the drawing was going to be my blip until I took this one on my phone which, while a little grainy, superseded it due to it’s endearing nature. I also like that Ella’s Mum and Dad, Matt and Rose, are present in the background.

- Damian

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.