Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Fête du Coscoll

It has been a day of surprises. The village was taken over by the annual vide grenier car boot sale. I found quite a few useful bargains and there was dancing in the square and a festive atmosphere. After lunch, we went to the Fête de Coscoll. This salad plant is only to be found on the slopes of Canigou and a few other places in the Eastern Pyrenees and nowhere else in the world so it is unlikely that any blippers have tasted it. First you must go up around 2000 metres and know where to look. Then you must be sure you do not pick aconite which is similar and kill yourself. Then you must cut the bottom of the stems into 10cm lengths and cut the tops. Then you soak it in several changes of water for 24 hours to remove bitterness. Then you have a very fresh tasting salad vegetable which is great served with a little vinaigrette. I met a badminton friend at the fete who gave us some and invited me to go with him next year on the select Coscoll gathering trip. I do not know if that would entitle me to membership of the newly formed 'Confrerie de Coscoll!'

If that was not enough, I had a small world experience. As I was taking this photo a man came up to me and began to speak English. He only turned out to be Jean-Phillippe Javory, formerly of my football team, Sheffield United. We reminisced about the club and his career. Of course, I got his autograph!

On the way back we called in on friends for a cup of tea and sat in the grounds of their B and B. They have invited us back to pick their cherries trees as they have more than they can possibly use. I see more jams and crumbles coming on...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.