New Ferry

The "Lochinvar" , one of two new diesel / electric hybrid ferries built at Ferguson's of Port Glasgow was handed over to Cal Mac on the 1st of May for use on the Portavaide to Tarbert route across Loch Fyne. I blipped it on trials just before that date and it took a few weeks of further trials before the company felt ready to bring it into service.

So today was the first day I travelled over to Tarbert on it. It is much larger than either the Loch or the Island class boats that have been on the run and a lot more comfortable for passengers.

I took quite a few pictures of it but I just grabbed this panorama on my iPhone as we arrived in Tarbert not expecting much of it. It was however the most unusual shot of the day - a little misleading as it is not , of course, a side loading ferry (!) but it does give an indication of space and I think it is at least interesting to people who aren't quite as obsessed with ferries as I have to be !

(You can see it LARGE too )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.