Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Miss Bee Haven

Well it's the last day of my week off, and until today I've been a pretty lazy Miss. I did actually achieve quite a lot when I think about it, but somehow I felt like a naughty child for bunking off jobs around the flat and just sitting back enjoying Nature and the luxury of not being at work in London.

Anyway this afternoon I made up for my laziness, and spent over four hours in my garden tidying up, strimming the grass, pulling up weeds from under the hedge and cutting down massive brambles in the flowerbed. I used some old secateurs which Dad had for years and gave to me when he thought he wasn't going to have a garden any more. It was a beautiful sunny afternoon here with lots of birdsong, and I was transported back to my childhood when I used to follow my green-fingered Dad round and learn all about gardening from him. We used to watch Gardener's World with Percy Thrower together, and people are always surprised at how much knowledge I have of flowers and plants considering I don't do my own garden too often. I carried on out there until nearly 8 o'clock this evening. The blackbirds were singing to each other as the shadows slowly lengthened, and at one point a Tiger Moth puttered across the sky on its way back to Wycombe Air Park. The garden was a haven of calm, and I felt content and at peace with the world.

While taking a break for a drink of water, I caught sight of this bee dozing in the warm sun on one of Maralyn the Upstairs Neighbour's pretty flowers. I went up to get my camera and he was still there when I returned, though he did crawl lazily over the flower a bit and I had to do some strange contortions to get this shot.

It's back to work in the big city tomorrow, and back onto the hamster wheel. Goodbye lazy days...


PS: Here's a link to a few more photos I took on this beautiful Sunday on Facebook

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.