Arboreal Aesthetics

There are certain trees with shapes that hold immense appeal to me. There's no doubt that a degree of asymmetry is vital to the aesthetic quality of a tree. A symmetrical tree shape is rather dull, although balance is obviously a factor too. What exactly makes this tree here, to my mind anyway, rather more beautiful than most? As I cycle through the countryside I sometimes give my mind over to such questions - not that I often come up with any answers. I'd guess that anthropomorphism is involved to an extent. I suspect that we are drawn to shapes which in a subtle way express human qualities.

Summer arrived as predicted. It was beautifully warm in the sunshine and I enjoyed a ride out to Grassington and Pateley Bridge, not too far because I've had this software job that needs to be done. I've made reasonable progress. It's been a good balance of work and play. A bit more work needs to be done before hopefully an early-ish night. It's going to be a long day in the office tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.