Big Hill

By bighill

New Forms.

I love the look of newly formed clay pieces.....when the clay is still wet and shiney....when you can still see where my fingers have moved the clay....i love the way they all look together on the wareboards!!! the shapes that are created between the pots is just as exciting as the shape of the pot itself!!

I've been looking around at new forms to work on, such an exciting time - to have the luxury of time to play and explore is wonderful!! I've spent many years as a production potter, needing to meet this deadline for a show or that deadline for an store order.....and here i am now, in this wonderful place of not having any deadlines imposed on me! And not having to produce what i know will sell.....which is the other common impediment to exploration.
the need to make what you know will bring in the money usually takes precedent over playing around looking for new forms and new ways of doing things.

so i'm exploring the technique of making larger, more complicated forms, where you join 2 or more element together to make the whole!!! pretty funky!

These are parts that will be joined together to make a large vase, not really large, maybe about 18", just as a starting point. tomorrow, after finding out what i need to change - i'm going for the really large pieces.....i'm very excited!

I need to apologise for the lack of sharpness in this image....i was in the studio, without my tripod and saw these shapes and just had to go for it.....this is done leaning on a chair, and holding my breath!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.