Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Wierum Wreck

Shipwreck at Wierum, Frisia, The Netherlands.

The shipwreck at Wierum has been on my list for quite some time. This location takes some planning: tide and weather need to be just right around the time of sunset (or sunrise). Today, I had some time available around sunset and conditions looked good. After a 67 kilometre drive I arrived at the scene a bit later than I wished, but I came well prepared. You have to venture out from the coast onto the mudflats for quite a distance and I expected my feet would sink into the mud way too deep for my boots to keep them dry. I brought clean clothes, a towel and even a jerrycan with clean water so I could get the mud off my legs and hands afterwards. All this proved to be very useful...

Once I arrived at the wreck, it was a race against the clock as the sun was sinking beneath a band of clouds and the tide was coming in, slowly but surely. With every step I got sucked into the mud even further. A great photo shoot and exercise at the same time :-).

May I suggest watching this somewhat bigger?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.