Another Day of Being CK

By anotherdayck

Late Christmas Blip

Here's my whanau, on Christmas day, just before opening presents.

I would apologise for not Blipping, but I have taken on a new philisophy to taking photographs. I email and write to a friend overseas, she doesn't have a lot of money therefore has a crappy camera. We were talking about creative outlets, and recently she hasn't really had one. I was telling her she should find one again, etc etc, but she replied with words of wisdom. The revised edition is that there was no need for her to 'capture' beauty, instead just soak it up while you're there (the latter has been my own adding to the idea).

This has meant that instead of taking hundreds/thousands of photos, I just take a few. I guess in a way it's a neat learning, well, not learning, experience curve. Instead of being adament on capturing every piece of beauty in this world I walk past (& let's face it, I live in NZ, beauty is almost on every inch of this country), I absorb it, move on, and perhaps take a photo if I feel the need.

I've also been getting into film cameras, which means I only take one photo per..."scene", because it is so costly to take any more! I can't wait to print off my first set off prints, scan them in, and put them on Blip! I managed to find a Minolta film zoom point and shoot camera WITH a battery for $5NZ at a Hospice Shop, so I went and bought $9 film and it's been fun. I'm excited to see the results, I have about 4 shots left in the film.

Anyway, happy Blipping, Blippers.

PS I got into UC Fine Arts :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.