Subseasniper

By BrianHamilton

Spearfishing Buoy

Thought I would post something a bit different today, a picture of a very essential piece of kit, my spearfishing buoy.

The metal clip sitting in front is attached to a winder so I can adjust the length of float line I have out, the remaining line and winder are in a pouch on top of the buoy. The clip itself attaches to my speargun, this means if I catch a fish but am low on air I can dump the gun with the fish attached then retrieve it from the surface, the gun also acts as an anchor so I can drop it to the seabed and it will hold the buoy still, perfect if I need to lean over the buoy for a rest.

The grey string holds a loading cup which allows me to push the spear into the muzzle of the speargun without the spear piercing my hand.

The metal loop is a stringer for holding fish, when in the water this hangs down to keep the fish fresh.

My Crocs are clipped to the back, when I do a beach access dive I sometimes walk across rocky shores in my neoprene socks so shoes are essential, Crocs are pretty resistant to salt water and quick rinse with a hose freshens them up.

The boring but essential dive flag makes me visible to passing boats, this is handy as I often fish in a bay which contains a busy harbour.

Lastly, the smaller floatline and flask are sometimes taken along, the big winder is taken out and the flask fits into the pouch. This allows me to amble along the coastline for a few hours, pitching ashore for a quick cup of tea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.