CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The landslip beyond Ruskin Mill

The forecast rain held off this morning so I took the opportunity to clear some debris from the garden and drove to the local tip. I thought it would be a good quiet time to go there, but of course a horde of others beat me to it. On the drive there between Nailsworth and the village of Horsley, I had to stop at some roadwork traffic lights where a one-way system was in place. It was on the edge of a steep hillside overlooking the local stream, and the landslip collapse had taken half the road and a lot of tall trees down into the valley, very close to a house about forty feet below.

On the return journey, being inquistive, I parked nearby and walked back to this spot to see the damage. It has reminded me of how easy it is for landslips to occur in our local geological mix of alternating strata of limestone and clay. I think we better check the insurance cover.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.